Minimalism & Traveling

I lived and traveled across Europe for 6.5 months in 2016, here is everything I brought with me.

  • 8 shirts (reduced to 5 shirts by May 15th)
    • 5 short sleeves
    • 1 dress shirt
    • 2 long sleeves
  • 2 pairs of shorts
    • 1 casual
    • 1 gym
  • 1 pair of jeans(Eventually I would leave this pair behind in Rome)
  • 4 pairs of shoes ( 1 pair completely got gutted and left behind)
    • brown dress shoes
    • Chacos (gotta have em)
    • running shoes
    • Aureus’s
  • 8 pairs of socks
  • 2 belts
    • 1 brown
    • 1 black
  • 6 pairs of boxers
  • 3 books
    • Siddartha by Herman Hesse
    • Love and Space Dust by David Jones
    • The Big Short by Michael Lewis
  • 1 travel blanket
  • 1 Journal
  • 2 jackets
    • 1 sport
    • 1 rain
  • 1 tennis racquet
  • 1 Galaxy S3 (solely for music)
  • 1 pair of headphones
  • 1 toiletry bag
  • 1 travel bag
  • 1 carry on suitcase
  • 1 laptop
  • 2 water bottles
  • 2 combo locks

That was all I had when I left the States! I bought some souvenirs when I got to Italy and any cities I visited, but even some of those I left behind in the end. I lost a ton of weight while abroad, so I donated the clothes that no longer fit me. Thankfully I had a dear friend who could take my racquet, dress shoes, sports coat, and souvenirs for friends and family back to the States. That dramatically cut down what I would have to carry on my back and thank god I did!

1-month backpacking:

  • 5 shirts
  • 2 pairs of shorts
  • 2 pairs of shoes
  • 1 belt
  • 1 pair of headphones
  • 1 S3
  • 1 journal
  • 1 blanket
  • 1 backpacking bag
  • 1 book
    • Love and Space Dust
  • 6 pairs of socks (Death comes for us all, even socks)
  • 6 boxers
  • 1 toiletry bag
  • 1 journal
  • 1 laptop
  • 2 water bottles
  • 1 tent
  • 1 sleeping bag/pad
  • 1 wrist compass
  • 1 jacket
  • 2 combo locks

 

So what did I learn from doing all this?

  1. People don’t really care about what you wear day to day, as long as you shower regularly and your clothes don’t smell (go figure right?)
  2. If something doesn’t serve a purpose then it just weighs you down. Like physically weighs you down. My god! My shoulders and back got so sore from carrying useless crap everywhere I traveled.
  3. Biking with 30+ lbs of gear and clothes is terrible.
  4. Packing is a breeze because I know everything I own.
  5. All laundry can be completed in one cycle!
  6. You get to forego checked baggage costs; overhead bins are your friends on planes.
  7. Clothes can make a nice makeshift pillow when camping if folded properly
  8. I can survive with the bare necessities
  9. I still have more things/valuables than 80% of the world’s population
  10. Being able to put on dry socks is a blessing
  11. Do not misplace your rain cover for your tent or you will regret it. REGRET!
  12. I can navigate myself anywhere in the world with just a physical map and compass!

 

Now it’s time to revisit my overstuffed closet and house and start selling or donating my unnecessary belongings.

Cheers,

Andy

 

Leave a Reply

