Healthy Change #1

Alright friends,

taking the first step to a healthier life begins now!

Increase your WATER intake!!!

I encourage you to do your own research but let me start you off here with this great site,

http://www.slenderkitchen.com/article/how-to-calculate-how-much-water-you-should-drink-a-day

Change must start slow. Extremely slow. It starts out as a tiny snowball, you begin rolling it and it starts picking up newer and healthier habits. You continue rolling and pushing and you build momentum over time, then you wake up one day and realize that you no longer have a taste for soda( you don’t outright reject it, although you should), you don’t crave sugary drinks or snacks 24/7, your taste pallet resets,  you appreciate natural fructose more, and even the humble bell pepper taste sweet!

I challenge you for one week to make a conscious effort to up your water intake!

Here are areas where you can start your change:

  • Drink 32-64 oz of cold water each morning before you sit down for breakfast.
  • Drink 32 oz before you go to bed, it keeps your body humming smoothly all night, keeps you from being dehydrated throughout the night, and more.

Wow, there you go! 2 tangible areas to start you off.

I do not believe going “cold turkey” breaks unhealthy habits effectively. Motivation can only get you so far, it takes discipline to keep you going in the long run. You will hear me say that over and over again. Discipline outworks motivation!

Going cold turkey frames the habit you are trying to break as “evil”. It may very well be “evil” and you want to rid yourself of it but that can be difficult, just ask smokers how many times they’ve attempted to kick their habit. The percentage of successful first-timers are quite low (7% from StatisticBrain) and people going cold turkey is even lower (3.5%) Focusing on building this new habit will diminish the grip of the old habit you are trying to kick. A more effective route in my humble opinion.

I personally drink at least 160 ounces of water a day.  On the days that I do not drink enough water I feel thirsty all day, my lips get dry, my acne flares and I become lethargic in the morning.

Here’s what has changed about my taste and health over time from drinking more water;

  • I do not reach for a soda or choose it. Occasionally I will indulge in one but there is no guilt associated with it. There is no stigma of addiction attached to the soda because I recognize it simply as a choice.
  • My taste pallet picks up the subtle tastes of all foods I choose to eat much better.
  • My metabolism has sped up

After you have successfully increased your water intake for a week, don’t quit, continue building that new habit. One day at a time, one week at a time.

So I encourage you to take that first step.

Cheers,

Andy

3 thoughts on “Healthy Change #1

  1. Great stuff, thanks for sharing! 🙂

    It’s crazy to think how beneficial the stuff that comes out of our taps is, yet how many of us are probably not drinking enough?

    I know I struggle some days. I find it easier if I’ve trained, but distractions can cause us to get caught up in other things and before we realise it we haven’t hydrated ourselves in over an hour or more.

    There are some great apps out there that help to track water consumption. Another method is to put elastic bands around a water bottle either at the top or bottom. Once you have drank a whole bottle you shift a band to the opposite end. This way you can control how many bottles you drink and it’s a great visual reminder.

    Loving the content, keep doing what you’re doing 🙂

    PS – On a related note, I’m on the hunt for feedback for my new show The HERO Podcast! It’s all about creating healthy habits. You may enjoy a recent episode I did with Derek Doepker, where he discusses making lasting changes. You can check it out (and maybe leave a short review if you like) here: http://apple.co/2kjNoGN

    Like

    1. I will listen to the podcast this afternoon!

      I’ve struggled these last 4 week because of class schedules. I’m in class for 1hr 15 min blocks at a time and that makes it difficult to use the restroom so I have to monitor water intake more closely on those days.

      Thank you for the encouraging words, I publish at least one article per week (usually Saturday afternoons) and start a new topic on Sundays.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you, that means a lot, any feedback would be greatly appreciated! It can be hard to find ways to fit our habits around our lifestyles, it’s all a learning process! Looking forward to your future content! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

